top of page

Pennsylvania's Auto Insurance Limits Are a Problem

Updated: Sep 22, 2023



Yes, it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle without the proper mandatory insurance coverage in Pennsylvania. However, in 2019, according to the Federal Highway Administration. "Highway Statistics 2019", there were 539,261 UNINSURED (6%) drivers in Pennsylvania.

In addition to UNINSURED drivers, there are UNDERINSURED motorist claims.

If YOU are not insured adequately to compensate for these shortfalls, YOU are at risk for financial catastrophe in the case of a motor vehicle accident, EVEN if you are not at fault.

You’ve heard the phrase, “you can’t get blood out of a stone”.

This is also the case when you are in an accident with an at-fault driver is not insured or has insufficient coverage to pay the costs of your bodily or property damages.


Your options are limited. You can either…

1) Use your own insurance company through the Uninsured/Underinsured endorsement

on your own automobile insurance policy to pay for your unreimbursed medical bills

and other damages or


2) Sue the at-fault party personally for compensation or


3) Suffer the consequences of being financially responsible for the damages you have

suffered even if the accident was NOT YOUR FAULT.


In this lawyer’s opinion, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage may be the most important coverage which are often overlooked. In addition to UNINSURED drivers, low mandatory insurance limits have created a dire need for uninsured and underinsured coverages. The state of Pennsylvania only requires $15,000.00 in liability coverage which is ridiculously inadequate. For example, you may have a broken arm and require surgery to repair the break. That case may be worth in excess of $200,000.00 in pain and suffering. Should the defendant who caused your injuries have either no insurance or $15,000.00 liability insurance (the minimum required by the state) and you are seriously injured you are basically out of luck.


If YOU are not insured adequately to compensate for these shortfalls, YOU are at risk for financial catastrophe in the case of a motor vehicle accident, EVEN if you are not at fault.


You have three options when you are injured in an automobile collision and the person who caused it has either no insurance or state minimum coverage of $15,000.00.


1. Use your own insurance company through the Uninsured/Underinsured endorsement on your own automobile insurance policy to pay for your uncompensated pain and suffering. This is your only option with the possibility of full compensation;


2. Sue the at-fault party personally for compensation. If you do not have uninsured or underinsured coverage you have no practical remedy against the person who caused the accident. It is not possible under most, if not all circumstances to recover any money from the person who caused the accident for many reasons which will not be discussed here, however suffice it to say you cannot get blood from a stone. If the person has state minimum coverage you would be limited to recovering $15,000.00 or nothing if the person is not insured.


3. Suffer the consequences of being financially irresponsible for the damages you have suffered even if the accident was NOT YOUR FAULT.


P.S. If you own more than one vehicle, it is highly recommended that when electing uninsured and underinsured coverages to add stacking to that election.


If you have been in an automobile accident, please call for a free consultation.

Why it's important to have good auto insurance...

Comentários


bottom of page